Website banner (2).png

What is a designated centre?

Definition

Generally located in hospitals, CLSCs or dispensaries, designated centres for medico-social intervention for sexual assault victims (designated centres) offer a range of emergency medical and psychosocial services to victims who were assaulted within the past six months.

 

The first designated centres were created in 1975; there are now more than 80 in different regions across Québec. Services are provided by a medico-social team made up of psychosocial counsellors, nurses, and doctors who have received special training in helping sexual assault victims*.

Banniere-EspaceMembre-PageContenu.png

Designated centres offer emergency services 24/7 to adults, adolescents and children who were sexually assaulted within the past six months.

A designated centre is the FIRST place to go

If you were sexually assaulted...

...in the past 5 days 

Go directly to the designated centre nearest you. Five days is the limit for obtaining forensic samples that can be used as evidence. Since the reliability of samples decreases over time, try to get to a designated centre as soon as possible.

 

...6 days ago or more

Go to the designated centre nearest you, where you will be seen by appointment or on an emergency basis, depending on how the centre in your region operates.

…over 6 months ago

A designated centre is not the resource for you, as centres are intended for individuals who have been recently assaulted. We encourage you to consult our resources to find one that can provide the help you need.

Fond-1_edited.jpg

For more information

* To learn more about the myths and prejudices surrounding sexual assault, please consult the Information Guide for Sexual Assault Victims.

Qu'est-ce qu'un centre désigné?

Définition

Généralement situés dans les hôpitaux, les CLSC ou les dispensaires, les centres désignés pour l’intervention médicosociale auprès des victimes d’agression sexuelle (centre désigné) offrent différents services d’aide d’urgence médicale et psychosociale aux victimes dont l’agression sexuelle remonte à moins de 6 mois.

 

Les premiers centres désignés ont été implantés en 1975; on en compte maintenant plus de 80, répartis dans les différentes régions du Québec. Ces services sont assurés par une équipe médicosociale composée, entre autres, d’intervenantes et d’intervenants psychosociaux ainsi que d’infirmières, d’infirmiers et de médecins formés pour aider les victimes d’agression sexuelle*.

Les centres désignés offrent des services d'urgence 24/7 pour tous les adultes, adolescent(e)s et enfants ayant vécu une agression sexuelle il y a moins de 6 mois. 

PREMIER arrêt 

Si vous avez été victime d'une agression sexuelle...

 

Il y a 5 jours ou moins

Dirigez-vous rapidement vers le centre désigné le plus près de chez vous. C’est le délai maximal pour pouvoir effectuer des prélèvements médicolégaux. Comme la fiabilité des prélèvements diminue avec le temps, il est préférable de se présenter au centre désigné le plus tôt possible.

 

Il y a plus de 6 jours

Dirigez-vous vers le centre désigné le plus près de chez vous. Vous serez reçu(e) sur rendez-vous ou en urgence, selon le fonctionnement du centre désigné de votre région.

Il y a plus de 6 mois

Le centre désigné n'est pas la ressource pour vous puisque c'est un service d'urgence qui s'adresse aux personnes victimes récentes seulement. Vous pouvez toutefois consulter nos ressources pour trouver une aide adaptée à vos besoins. 

Pour plus d'information

* Pour en apprendre plus sur les mythes et préjugés encadrant les agressions sexuelles, référez-vous au Guide d'information à l'intention des victimes d'agression sexuelle