4.png

Immigrants and racialized persons and sexual violence in Québec

The #BlackLivesMatter movement provoked a great deal of discussion in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd, a black man who was killed by the Minneapolis police on May 25. Hundreds of demonstrations were organized around the world and thousands of people called out police brutality and systemic racism on social media. What does this have to do with sexual violence against immigrants and racialized persons* in Québec?

 

Current situation

According to Status of Women Canada, racialized persons, people living in northern, rural and remote communities and newcomers to Canada are at greater risk of experiencing gender-based violence. In her study entitled Le sentiment de justice pour des femmes immigrées ou racisées survivantes de violences sexuelles, Laurence Ingenito confirms that by crossing these data with the racial discrimination experienced by these women when looking for housing, in a job market that does not recognize immigrants’ qualifications or diplomas, we see that immigrant women and women of colour are confronted with a multitude of factors that make them particularly susceptible to sexual violence.

 

As regards First Nations women, CRIPCAS (the Interdisciplinary Research Centre on Intimate Relationship Problems and Sexual Abuse) states in its memorandum on the state of the art in current research on sexual violence and First Nations women in Québec that it is realistic to say that approximately 25 to 50% of First Nations adults were victims of sexual assault before reaching the age of majority. In comparison, our research results show that the prevalence of sexual assault during childhood in the general Québec population is 10% for men and between 18 and 22% for women, which are comparable to rates around the world. According to a study by Lavoie et al (2007), Nunavik presents a ratio of 240 cases of sexual assault per 100,000 inhabitants, compared to 77 per 100,000 for the rest of Québec (according to 2005 statistics from the Ministère de la Sécurité publique). Among First Nations communities in Québec, there is marked comorbidity between sexual assault and other problems: the prevalence of sexual assault is significantly higher among participants who have a problem related to gambling and money (66.7%), alcohol (44.1%) and drugs (47.3%).

 

 

The legal system

In her book Sexual Assault in Canada: Law, Legal Practice and Women’s Activism, lawyer and Ottawa University professor Elizabeth Sheehy reports that a racialized woman who reports a violent incident to the police will be taken less seriously and that her assailant will often be treated more leniently by the criminal justice system. A study by the Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) shows that cases involving homicides of Aboriginal women are less likely to be solved. Only 53% of murder cases in the NWAC database have been solved, as compared to 84% of all homicides in Canada.

 

Laurence Ingenito agrees, saying, “Although white women are confronted with several obstacles to obtaining justice when they report an incident of sexual violence, the experiences of immigrant and racialized women seem to be worse. The current justice system doesn’t just fail to give justice to survivors of sexual violence who are likely to experience racism, it revictimizes them.” (translation)

 

Racism and sexism are indissociable

Wikipedia defines intersectionality as “a theoretical framework for understanding how aspects of a person’s social and political identities (e.g., gender, sex, race, class, sexuality, religion, ability, physical appearance, height, etc.) might combine to create unique modes of discrimination and privilege.”

 

According to police statistics for 2015 provided by Québec’s Ministère de la Sécurité publique du Québec, 86.8% of sexual assault victims are women. If the woman involved is an immigrant or racialized, the intersection between the two forms of oppression (racism and sexism) reinforce that dynamic. The United Nations Commission on the Status of Women confirms that, by virtue of their sex, women are especially vulnerable to racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and intolerance. The phenomenon of racialized sexuality can also be seen in different sexual representations that are coloured by racism (racialized sexual harassment, eroticization of characteristic features of racialized persons, fantasies of sexual slavery, etc.).

 

 

Concrete impacts on medico-social intervention in designated centres

We all know that going to a designated centre to ask for help demands a great deal of courage and presents a certain number of obstacles for any victim of sexual assault. A memorandum submitted by RQ-CALACS entitled Racisme, sexisme et agressions sexuelles : des violences sexospécifiques, des effets dévastateurs reported that immigrants or racialized persons have to deal with even more obstacles in their search for help: lack of knowledge of available resources, fear of being rejected by their own community, inaccessibility of resources and lack of universal accommodations, fear of losing their immigration status, inadequate social support, and the effects of migration, overwork and poverty. Québec’s history of colonization may create mistrust among members of First Nations. Some of the last generation to attend Indian residential schools are only between 30 and 40 years old today. It is therefore crucial that we take into account the history of violence, underlying issues and the intersectionality of discriminatory characteristics in order to adapt our medico-social services to the needs, concerns and life experience of immigrant or racialized persons.

 

Québec Native Women (QNW) has drawn up a series of recommendations to be applied during interventions with members of Aboriginal communities. The following recommendations could be very useful for designated centres:

  • Fill out forms for them. Since children in residential schools were forced to write in French, filling out a form in French may trigger painful memories of their experience.

  • “Prostitution” and “sexual exploitation” may have different meanings for these victims. Avoid automatically using those terms. Discuss them to explore their meaning.

  • Avoid sitting directly across from the person. Place yourself at a 45° angle. For members of Aboriginal communities, the act of confiding in someone is like pouring out a river. If you place yourself at a 45° angle from the person, you will not block the river, allowing their words to flow more freely.

  • It is not necessary to use any formal form of address.

  • Avoid using long, complicated words. Use simple language.

  • Speak more slowly.

  • Don’t shy away from long silences.

For more information, consult the Indigenous Ally Toolkit published by the Montreal Urban Aboriginal Community Strategy NETWORK.

* A racialized person is a person who is, or appears to be, a member of a group that has been subjected to racialization. Racialization is a process of political, social and mental othering by which a group of people is made to seem intrinsically different.

Fond-1.png

Subscribe to our newsletter!

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will be the first to know about our activities!

Infolettre header (22).png

Le mouvement #BlackLivesMatter a fait couler beaucoup d’encre à la suite du meurtre de George Floyd, un homme noir tué par la police de Minneapolis le 25 mai dernier. Des centaines de manifestations ont été organisées à travers le monde et des milliers de personnes ont élevé leur voix sur les réseaux sociaux afin de dénoncer la brutalité policière et le racisme systémique. Mais qu’en est-il des violences sexuelles envers les personnes immigrées ou racisées* au Québec?

 

État de la situation

Selon Condition féminine Canada, les personnes racisées, les personnes vivant dans les communautés nordiques rurales et éloignées et les personnes nouvellement arrivées au Canada sont plus à risque de subir des violences fondées sur le sexe. Dans l’étude sur le sentiment de justice pour des femmes immigrées ou racisées survivantes de violences sexuelles, Laurence Ingenito confirme ce fait : « En croisant ces données avec la discrimination raciale que vivent les femmes dans la recherche de logement, sur le marché du travail avec la non-reconnaissance de leurs titres ou diplômes quand elles sont immigrantes, on constate que les femmes immigrantes et les femmes de couleur font face à une multitude de facteurs les rendant particulièrement susceptibles de vivre des violences à caractère sexuel. »

 

En ce qui concerne les Premières Nations, le CRIPCAS affirme dans son mémoire sur l’état des connaissances en recherche sur la violence sexuelle et les femmes autochtones au Québec : « Il est réaliste de penser qu’environ 25 à 50 % des adultes autochtones ont été victimes d’agression sexuelle (AS) avant d’atteindre l’âge de la majorité. En comparaison, les résultats de nos travaux indiquent que la prévalence de l’AS pendant l’enfance dans la population générale québécoise se situe à 10 % pour les hommes et entre 18 et 22 % pour les femmes, taux également retrouvés ailleurs dans le monde. » Selon l’étude conduite par Lavoie et ses collègues (2007), le Nunavik présenterait un ratio de 240 cas d’agression sexuelle par 100 000 habitants alors que celui-ci est de 77 par 100 000 habitants dans le reste de la province de Québec, selon les statistiques de 2005 du ministère de la Sécurité publique. Nous retrouvons une comorbidité avec d’autres problématiques particulièrement présentes chez les membres des Premières Nations du Québec : « La prévalence de l’agression sexuelle est significativement plus élevée chez les participants ayant une problématique liée aux jeux de hasard et d’argent (66,7 %), à l’alcool (44,1 %) et aux drogues (47,3 %). »

 

 

Le système judiciaire

Elizabeth Sheehy, avocate et professeure à l’Université d’Ottawa, révèle dans son ouvrage Sexual Assault in Canada: Law, Legal Practice and Women’s Activism qu’une femme racisée qui porte plainte à la police pour un incident violent sera prise avec moins de sérieux et que son agresseur sera souvent sanctionné moins sévèrement par le système de justice pénale. Une recherche de l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada (AFAC) démontre d’ailleurs que les homicides de femmes autochtones sont plus susceptibles de ne pas être résolus. En effet, seulement 53 % des cas de meurtre dans la banque de données de l’AFAC ont été résolus, en comparaison avec 84 % de l’ensemble des meurtres au Canada.

 

Laurence Ingenito abonde dans le même sens : « Si les femmes blanches font face à plusieurs barrières pour obtenir justice lorsqu’elles dénoncent des violences à caractère sexuel, les expériences des femmes immigrantes et des femmes de couleur semblent être pires. Dans son fonctionnement actuel, le système de justice non seulement ne rend pas justice aux survivantes de violences à caractère sexuel qui sont susceptibles de vivre du racisme, mais au contraire il les revictimise. »

 

 

Le racisme et le sexisme : indissociables

L’intersectionnalité est définie par l’Office québécois de la langue française comme le « cumul de différentes formes de domination ou de discrimination vécues par une personne, fondées notamment sur sa race, son sexe, son âge, sa religion, son orientation sexuelle, sa classe sociale ou ses capacités physiques, qui entraîne une augmentation des préjudices subis ». Selon les statistiques policières de 2015 fournies par le ministère de la Sécurité publique du Québec, 86,8 % des victimes d’agression sexuelle sont des femmes. Dans la situation où une femme est immigrante ou racisée, l’intersection entre les deux formes d’oppression que constituent le racisme et le sexisme contribue à renforcer cette dynamique. La Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies confirme que, en raison de leur sexe, les femmes sont plus particulièrement vulnérables au racisme, à la discrimination raciale, à la xénophobie et à l’intolérance. Le phénomène de sexualité racialisée est aussi observé dans différentes représentations sexuelles teintées de racisme (harcèlement sexuel à caractère racial, érotisation des traits caractéristiques des personnes racisées, fantasmes d’esclavage, etc.).

 

 

L’impact concret sur l’intervention médicosociale en centre désigné

Nous le savons, aller chercher de l’aide dans un centre désigné demande beaucoup de courage et comporte son lot d’obstacles pour toute personne victime d’agression sexuelle. Or, selon le mémoire Racisme, sexisme et agressions sexuelles : des violences sexospécifiques, des effets dévastateurs du RQ-CALACS, les personnes immigrées ou racisées doivent affronter encore plus d’obstacles dans leur recherche d’aide : la méconnaissance des ressources, la peur d’être rejetée par son propre milieu, l’inaccessibilité des ressources et l’absence d’accommodement universel, la peur de perdre son statut d’immigration, le faible réseau de soutien, les effets du contexte migratoire, la surcharge de travail et la pauvreté. L’historique de colonisation du Québec peut aussi engendrer une méfiance parmi les membres des Premières Nations. Les personnes de la dernière génération des pensionnats n’ont que 30 à 40 ans aujourd’hui. Il est donc primordial de prendre en compte l’historique de violence, les enjeux sous-jacents et l’intersectionnalité des caractéristiques discriminatoires afin d’adapter l’intervention médicosociale aux besoins, aux préoccupations et au vécu des personnes immigrées ou racisées.

 

Femmes autochtones du Québec (FAQ) a formulé, pour l’intervention auprès des membres des communautés autochtones, des recommandations qui peuvent s’avérer très pertinentes dans les centres désignés :

  • Remplir les formulaires à leur place. À l’époque des pensionnats, les membres des communautés autochtones étaient forcés d’écrire en français. Remplir le formulaire en français peut donc raviver des souvenirs de cette expérience.

  • Les termes « prostitution » et « exploitation sexuelle » peuvent vouloir dire autre chose pour ces personnes victimes. Ne pas imposer ces termes. En discuter pour en explorer le sens.

  • Éviter de se placer directement face à la personne. Privilégier une position à 45 degrés. Pour les membres des communautés autochtones, se confier est comparable à déverser une rivière en face de soi. En se positionnant à 45 degrés, vous vous assurez de ne pas bloquer la rivière et ainsi leur parole peut couler sans entrave. 

  • Pas besoin de vouvoyer.

  • Ne pas utiliser de grands mots compliqués.

  • Ralentir le débit.

  • Ne pas avoir peur des longs silences.

 

Pour plus d’information, consultez La trousse d’outils pour les alliées aux luttes autochtones.

 

* Personne racisée : Fait référence à une personne qui appartient, de manière réelle ou supposée, à un des groupes ayant subi un processus de racisation. La racisation est un processus politique, social et mental d’altérisation.

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre!