14.png

Changes to IVAC

The reform of the compensation system for crime victims (IVAC) came into effect on October 13, 2021, with the introduction of the new Act to assist persons who are victims of criminal offences and to facilitate their recovery (LAPVIC). According to Simon Jolin-Barrette, the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Quebec, this law “marks an important turning point for support for victims.”


More than 30 years overdue, this new legislation includes several major changes that will improve the services available to victims, including the expansion of the list of eligible offences to include any criminal offence under the Criminal Code (affecting a person’s physical or psychological integrity) and the broadening of the definition of victim to include indirect victims.

What is the compensation used for in sexual assault cases?


IVAC offers a wide range of compensation and services to victims and their loved ones, including for temporary or permanent disability; the replacement of objects or glasses broken during a crime; paramedical services such as psychotherapy or physiotherapy; moving expenses, etc. Also, in the case of a victim without a RAMQ card who was sexually assaulted in Quebec, IVAC could pay the costs related to services received at a designated centre. 


To apply for compensation, victims must complete the application for qualification form and submit a document providing objective proof of injury. Assistance preparing the application is available during the medico-social intervention.

What are the major changes introduced by the LAPVIC?


There is no longer a time limit for filing an application for compensation in cases involving sexual assault, domestic violence and violence suffered during childhood. 


A person who is the victim of a crime committed outside of Quebec or Canada can receive benefits, provided the offence is listed in the Criminal Code. Previously, the crime had to have been committed in Quebec for the victim to be eligible for compensation under IVAC.


A minor who is over the age of 14 can now file an application for assistance on their own behalf.

 

Did you know that IVAC covers the cost of prophylactics?


The Support Service has received several requests for information on the procedure for prescribing prophylactics to victims. Many counsellors appear to be unaware that these drugs are covered by IVAC.


The IVAC website clearly states that “the Direction générale de l’IVAC covers the cost of prophylactic drugs prescribed as a result of exposure to bodily fluids during a criminal offence or an act of good citizenship in order to prevent infection with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or hepatitis B (HBV)" (see the “Médicaments prophylactiques” section, in French). The website also describes the procedure that pharmacists must follow to file a claim. There is no cost to the victim for prophylactics (according to the IVAC eligibility criteria). It is the responsibility of the pharmacy to make a request for reimbursement directly to IVAC. 

If you’d like to learn more about the changes made to IVAC, the Ministry of Justice has developed a series of training and information tools in the form of videos (in French).

 

The Support Service is available to answer any questions related to IVAC programs. If you have specific questions concerning one of your cases or if you need clarification on protocols in your region, please don’t hesitate to contact us:

Monday to Friday, 9 am to 5 pm
1 855 656-8906
infoservice-conseil@cvasm.ca

Fond-1.png

Subscribe to our newsletter!

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will be the first to know about our activities!

14.png

Les nouveautés de l’IVAC

La réforme de l’indemnisation des victimes d’actes criminels (IVAC) est entrée en vigueur depuis le 13 octobre 2021, avec la nouvelle loi intitulée Loi visant à aider les personnes victimes d’infractions criminelles et à favoriser leur rétablissement (LAPVIC). Selon Simon Jolin-Barrette, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Québec, cette loi « marque un tournant important pour l’accompagnement des personnes victimes ».

Cette réforme attendue depuis plus de 30 ans permet d’offrir un meilleur service aux victimes pour plusieurs raisons, notamment parce que la liste des infractions admissibles prend maintenant en compte toute infraction criminelle prévue au Code criminel (qui porte atteinte à l’intégrité physique ou psychique d’une personne) et que la notion de victime a été élargie pour inclure les victimes indirectes.

À quoi servent les indemnisations dans les dossiers d’agression sexuelle ?


L’IVAC offre un grand éventail d’indemnités et de services aux personnes victimes et à leurs proches, par exemple : en cas d’incapacité temporaire ou permanente ; pour le remplacement d’objets ou de lunettes brisés lors de l’acte criminel ; pour des services paramédicaux comme la psychothérapie ou la physiothérapie ; pour des frais de déménagement ; et plus encore. Aussi, dans le cas d’une victime sans carte RAMQ agressée sexuellement au Québec, l’IVAC pourrait payer les frais liés aux services reçus au centre désigné. 


Pour déposer une demande à l’IVAC, la victime doit remplir un formulaire et fournir un document comme preuve objective de blessure. On peut l’aider à préparer sa demande lors de l’intervention médicosociale.

 

Quels sont les principaux changements que la LAPVIC apporte ?

Il n’y a plus de délai pour présenter une demande d’indemnisation dans les dossiers d’agression sexuelle, de violence conjugale et de violence subie pendant l’enfance.


Si la personne est victime d’un crime commis à l’extérieur du Québec ou du Canada, elle peut recevoir des indemnités, à condition que l’infraction soit inscrite au Code criminel. Avant, il fallait que l’acte criminel ait été commis au Québec pour que la victime soit admissible à une aide de l’IVAC.


Les mineurs de plus de 14 ans peuvent désormais faire leur propre demande d’indemnisation

 

Savez-vous que les médicaments prophylactiques sont couverts par l’IVAC ?

Le Service-conseil a reçu quelques demandes concernant les procédures pour la prescription de prophylactiques à des personnes victimes. Plusieurs intervenant·e·s semblent ignorer que ces médicaments sont couverts par l’IVAC.


Sur le site web de l’IVAC, il est clairement indiqué que la « Direction générale de l’IVAC assume les frais des médicaments prophylactiques prescrits à la suite d’une exposition à des liquides biologiques lors d’une infraction criminelle ou d’un acte de civisme pour prévenir l’infection par le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) ou par l’hépatite B (VHB) » (section « Médicaments prophylactiques »). Vous trouverez aussi sur ce site web la procédure que les pharmaciens et pharmaciennes doivent suivre pour faire une demande de remboursement. La personne victime n’a donc pas de frais associés à la prise de médicaments prophylactiques (selon les critères d’admissibilité de l’IVAC). C’est à la pharmacie de faire une demande de remboursement directement à l’IVAC. 

Si vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur les changements de l’IVAC, le ministère de la Justice a créé des outils de formation et d’information sous forme de capsules vidéo.

Le Service-conseil est disponible pour répondre à toute question concernant les programmes de l’IVAC. Si vous avez des questions liées à un de vos dossiers ou si vous avez besoin de précisions sur les protocoles au sein de votre région, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter :

Du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 17 h
1 855 656-8906
infoservice-conseil@cvasm.ca 

Fond-1.png

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre! 

En vous abonnant à notre infolettre trimestrielle, vous serez les premiers à être mis au courant de nos activités!