Blogue post banner.png

A helpline and referral service available 24/7

Launch of the newly named Sexual Violence Helpline

October 21, 2021 marked the inauguration of the newly named Sexual Assault Helpline, formerly known as the Provincial Helpline for Victims of Sexual Assault. For over 10 years, this listening and referral service has been answering calls from victims, loved ones and counsellors across Quebec, in French and English.

By calling 1 888 933-9007, victims can notably find out how to get to the closest designated centre in order to access medico-social intervention services. The helpline is also a precious source of information for counsellors across Quebec who have questions related to the needs of victims. Nearly 20 counsellors take turns in order to offer access to the service 24 hours a day, seven days a week. They are specially trained to provide assistance to victims of sexual violence and come from many backgrounds, including criminology, social work, etc.
 
The new name reflects the fact that the helpline offers assistance to people affected by
all forms of sexual violence, whether it’s sexual assault, sexual harassment, sexual exploitation or sexual cyberviolence. The Sexual Violence Helpline was recognized by the Comité d’experts sur l’accompagnement des personnes victimes d'agressions sexuelles et de violence conjugale (expert committee on support for victims of sexual assault and domestic violence) for its ability to centralize the various existing resources in Quebec. In its report entitled Rebâtir la confiance (rebuilding trust), tabled in December 2020, the committee recommended improvements to the Sexual Violence Helpline, including better promotion of its services.

New bookmarks have been printed and will be distributed to individuals affected by sexual violence. To order bookmarks, please contact Jade Lagacé, Assistant Coordinator, by email at j.lagace@cvasm.ca
 
Like the Support Service, the Sexual Violence Helpline is managed by the Montreal Sexual Assault Centre (MSAC). The helpline is mandated and funded by the Ministère de la Justice du Québec. Both our teams collaborate closely on various projects aimed at improving the services offered to victims.

To talk to someone, obtain support or find out what resources are available for you, call the Sexual Violence Helpline at 1 888 933-9007

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Fond-1.png

Subscribe to our newsletter!

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will be the first to know about our activities!

Blogue post banner.png

Une ligne d’écoute et de référence 24/7

— Lancement de la nouvelle marque Info-aide violence sexuelle

Le 21 octobre 2021 marquait le lancement de la nouvelle image de la Ligne-ressource provinciale pour les victimes d’agression sexuelle maintenant nommée Info-aide violence sexuelle. Cette ligne d’écoute et de référence existe depuis plus de 10 ans et répond aux appels des personnes victimes, des proches et des intervenant.e.s de toutes les régions du Québec, en français et en anglais. 

En appelant le 1 888 933-9007, une personne victime peut notamment savoir comment se rendre au centre désigné le plus proche pour bénéficier de services d’intervention médicosociale. La ligne est aussi une précieuse source d’information pour les intervenant.e.s de la province pour obtenir des réponse à toutes leurs questions liées aux besoins des personnes victimes. Près de 20 intervenantes téléphoniques se relaient pour offrir un service 24/7. Elles sont spécialement formées en intervention auprès des victimes de violence sexuelle et proviennent de différents domaines pertinents (criminologie, travail social, etc.).
 
Le changement de nom vise à réaffirmer que la ligne vient en aide aux personnes touchées par
toute forme de violence sexuelle : agression sexuelle, harcèlement sexuel, exploitation sexuelle et cyberviolence sexuelle. Info-aide violence sexuelle a été reconnue par le Comité d’experts sur l’accompagnement des personnes victimes d’agressions sexuelles et de violence conjugale pour sa capacité à centraliser les diverses ressources existantes au Québec. Dans son rapport Rebâtir la confiance, déposé en décembre 2020, le comité recommande d’ailleurs de bonifier Info-aide violence sexuelle, notamment en assurant sa promotion.

De nouveaux signets ont été imprimés et sont prêts à être distribués aux personnes touchées par de la violence sexuelle. Pour en commander, veuillez communiquer avec Jade Lagacé, coordonnatrice adjointe, à l’adresse courriel j.lagace@cvasm.ca
 
Tout comme le Service-conseil, Info-aide violence sexuelle est gérée par le Centre pour les victimes d’agression sexuelle de Montréal (CVASM). La ligne a été mandatée et financée par le ministère de la Justice du Québec. Nos deux équipes collaborent étroitement à divers projets afin d’améliorer les services offerts aux personnes victimes.

Pour parler, recevoir du soutien ou connaître les ressources qui répondent à vos besoins, contactez Info-aide violence sexuelle en appelant au 1 888 933-9007

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Fond-1.png

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre! 

En vous abonnant à notre infolettre trimestrielle, vous serez les premiers à être mis au courant de nos activités!