11.png
IMG_4959 2.jpg

Roberta McLaren has been a social worker with the Montreal Sexual Assault Centre (MSAC) for over 15 years. She began her professional career with a diploma in sociology and worked as an administrative assistant in a drop-in centre for close to 12 years.

Why did you want to become a social worker?

I developed an interest in this field when I was an employee at the drop-in centre and saw the work being done by the professionals at the centre. It made me want to study social work. I got accepted into a 14-month program at McGill University, which allowed me to earn my diploma quickly. I did an internship at Batshaw (an organization for youth protection services). After my studies, I applied to the MSAC, where I’ve been working since 2004. My goal was to find a job that allowed me to help people. 

Could you tell us about one of the professional challenges you had to face while working with designated centres?

 

I’ve been doing this job for a while now, and the biggest challenges are related to collaboration with other professionals (doctors, nurses and other social workers). We have the impression that we’re all partners, that we’re working together, that we’re part of the same team… and that’s how we want things to be, but unfortunately it’s not always the case. We encounter victims who are facing enormous obstacles and challenges. For a social worker, having the feeling that you’re supported by a team is very important.


A few years ago, I did an intervention with an Indigenous woman that didn’t go well. She had been brought to the centre by other white social workers who had not explained the services offered. This situation made me very nervous and I myself had difficulty explaining the services to the victim. Because of my stress, I was talking very loudly and quickly. So we fell into a vicious circle – the victim was getting increasingly upset and so was I. We weren’t able to complete the intervention. 


After that intervention, we contacted the organization Module du Nord québécois to ask for support and information so that we could improve the services we offer to Indigenous people. That really helped me gain confidence in my interventions with this population. It was a great collaboration.

After conducting a difficult medico-social intervention with a victim of sexual assault, what is your favourite way to decompress and clear your head?

After a difficult intervention, I like to go back and meet with my colleagues to discuss it. Once I’ve decompressed with my co-workers, I like to go home and watch TV.

What is it that motivates you to keep working with sexual assault victims?

 

Our work meets an urgent need! During an intervention, it’s a big challenge to make sure the victim has access to basic services, to medical services as well, and that we provide them with the support they need. With every intervention, we realize the importance of this work. Despite the increased awareness of sexual violence, there will always be victims who need this service, so we have to make sure it continues to be accessible.


I have never thought of changing jobs and the atmosphere at the centre [MSAC] helps make me want to continue. I have a lot of support from our director Deby Trent.

 

What advice would you give someone who was just starting to do medico-social intervention at a designated centre?

When we do job interviews, we ask the applicant if they are bothered by blood or dirt, or by receiving calls in the middle of the night when they’re on duty. We also ask them how they would manage a situation in which a police officer or doctor doesn’t believe a victim. If the person passes this test during the interview, it’s a good start. This is a very demanding job both physically and mentally, and there is no glory in it. That’s something you have to realize from the start. 


Being a sexual assault social worker might seem like an exotic job – “being in the hospital and working with doctors can seem exciting, stimulating and fulfilling,” but in reality it’s not like that. It’s not glamourous at all. You have to be prepared for the real nature of the job.

On a more personal note …

Latest good books Roberta has read: 
•    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
•    So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeoma Oluo
•    Reckless: My Life as a Pretender by Chrissie Hynde

 

Books she’s currently reading: 
•    One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston
•    The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad 

 

A book she tried to read, but abandoned (twice!):
Ulysses by James Joyce


Last good movie she saw:
The Graduate (1967) and Doctor Zhivago (1965)

 

Her favourite song:

The song playing on the radio in the car
 

Her favourite quote:
“I try not to judge people, because if I did I wouldn’t have any friends” – Ed Wood, 1994. 

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Blogue post banner (3).png

La chronique du pro: Roberta McLaren

— Entrevue avec un expert de l'intervention médicosocial en centre désigné —

IMG_4959 2.jpg

Roberta McLaren est travailleuse sociale au Centre pour les victimes d’agression sexuelle de Montréal (CVASM) depuis plus de 15 ans. Son parcours professionnel a commencé avec un diplôme en sociologie et elle a travaillé en tant qu’adjointe administrative dans un centre d’accueil pendant environ 12 ans. 

Qu’est-ce qui vous a encouragée à devenir travailleuse sociale?  

 

Quand j’étais employée au centre d’accueil, c’est en voyant le travail des professionnels que je côtoyais que j’ai développé un intérêt pour ce domaine. Ça m’a donné le goût d’entreprendre des études en travail social. À l’époque, j’ai été acceptée à l’Université McGill dans un programme de 14 mois, donc un diplôme rapide. J’ai fait un stage au Batshaw (un organisme pour les services de protection de la jeunesse) et à la fin de mes études, j’ai postulé au CVASM. Je travaille ici depuis 2004. Mon but était de trouver un travail qui me permettrait d’aider les gens.

Parlez-nous d’un défi professionnel auquel vous avez eu à faire face au cours de votre carrière en centre désigné.

Ça fait un moment que je fais ce travail, et les plus grands défis sont liés à la collaboration avec les autres professionnels (médecins, infirmiers·ères et autres intervenants). On a l’impression qu’on est partenaires, qu’on travaille ensemble, qu’on fait partie de la même équipe… c’est ce qu’on souhaite, mais malheureusement, ce n’est pas toujours le cas. On rencontre des victimes qui ont beaucoup d’obstacles et de défis. Pour une travailleuse sociale, c’est vraiment important d’avoir le sentiment d’être soutenue par une équipe.


J’ai eu une intervention avec une femme autochtone qui ne s’est pas bien passée il y a plusieurs années. Elle avait été amenée au centre par d’autres intervenantes blanches qui n’avaient pas expliqué le service. J’étais très nerveuse par la situation et j’avais de la difficulté à expliquer moi-même les services à la victime. Mon stress faisait en sorte que je parlais très vite et fort. Nous sommes tombées dans un cercle vicieux… la victime devenait de plus en plus énervée, et moi aussi. Nous n’avons pas pu finir l’intervention.


Après cette intervention, nous avons contacté l’organisme Module du Nord québécois pour demander du soutien et de l’information afin d’améliorer nos services aux personnes autochtones. Ça m’a beaucoup aidée à prendre confiance pour intervenir auprès de cette population. C’était un bel échange.

Après avoir effectué une intervention médicosociale difficile auprès d’une personne victime d’agression sexuelle, quel est votre moyen favori pour décompresser ou vous changer les idées?

 

Quand j’ai des interventions difficiles, je retourne auprès de mes collègues pour en parler. Une fois que j’ai décompressé avec mes collègues, j’aime rentrer à la maison et regarder la télévision.

Qu’est-ce qui vous motive à continuer de travailler auprès des personnes victimes d’agression sexuelle?

Ce travail répond à un besoin! C’est un gros défi au moment de l’intervention d’assurer que la victime a accès aux services de base, sur le plan médical aussi, et de lui donner du soutien. On constate pendant l’intervention l’importance de ce travail. Le service doit continuer d’être accessible. Malgré la sensibilisation aux violences sexuelles, il y aura toujours des victimes qui auront besoin de ce service.


Je n’ai jamais pensé à changer de travail et l’atmosphère du centre [CVASM] m’aide beaucoup à vouloir continuer. J’ai beaucoup de soutien de notre directrice, Dèby Trent.

Quel conseil donneriez-vous à quelqu’un commençant à effectuer des interventions médicosociales dans un centre désigné?  

 

Quand on fait une entrevue d’embauche, on demande à la personne candidate si le sang ou les saletés la dérangent, si recevoir des appels en pleine nuit pendant une garde serait un problème. On lui demande aussi, si un médecin ou un policier ne croit pas la victime ou doute de sa crédibilité, comment elle va gérer la situation. Si cette personne passe le test de l’entrevue, c’est un bon début. C’est un travail très exigeant physiquement et psychologiquement, et il n’y a pas de gloire. Il faut savoir ça en partant.


Ça peut paraître exotique comme emploi : « Être intervenante en agression sexuelle, être à l’hôpital et travailler avec des médecins, cela semble excitant, stimulant et épanouissant ! » Mais quand vous le faites, ce n’est pas comme ça. Ce n’est pas glamour du tout. Il faut être préparé à la réalité du travail.

Sur une note plus personnelle

 

Les derniers bons livres qu’elle a lus :

•    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings de Maya Angelou
•    So You Want to Talk About Race d’Ijeoma Oluo
•    Reckless: My Life as a Pretender de Chrissie Hynde

 

Les livres qu’elle lit en ce moment :

•    One Last Stop de Casey McQuiston
•    L’Agent secret de Joseph Conrad 

 

Le livre qu’elle a tenté de lire, mais a abandonné :

Ulysse de James Joyce (à deux reprises!)

Les derniers bons films qu’elle a vu :

Le Lauréat (1967) et Le Docteur Jivago (1965)

Sa chanson préférée : la chanson qui joue à la radio dans la voiture.

Sa citation préférée :

« I try not to judge people, because if I did I wouldn’t have any friends » (J’essaie de ne juger personne, parce que si je le faisais, je n’aurais pas d’ami·e·s.) – Ed Wood, 1994. 

Fond-1.png

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre! 

En vous abonnant à notre infolettre trimestrielle, vous serez les premiers à être mis au courant de nos activités!