10.png

Report from the committee of experts on support for victims of sexual assault and domestic violence:

« Rebuilding trust »

On December 15, 2020, the Comité d’experts sur l’accompagnement des victimes d’agressions sexuelles et de violence conjugale (committee of experts on support for victims of sexual assault and domestic violence) announced the publication of their report, entitled Rebâtir la confiance (rebuilding trust). The result of 18 months of work during the time of the #MeToo movement, the over 200-page report was the product of a trans-partisan initiative spearheaded by four female MNAs: Isabelle Charest, Minister for Education and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women; Isabelle Melançon, Member for Verdun; Christine Labrie, Member for Sherbrooke; and Véronique Hivon, Member for Joliette. 
 

These four women recruited 21 experts, including university professors, legal experts, social workers, criminologists, actors on the ground and victims of sexual violence. During a consultation process with specialized organizations in several regions of Québec, many victims courageously spoke out about their experiences by answering an online questionnaire.

 

The committee’s recommendations


The report’s 190 recommendations focus primarily on psychosocial/legal support for victims of sexual violence. They propose making real changes to the current system, offering tools for victims and support workers to facilitate the entire process—from reporting an attack to the culmination of subsequent legal proceedings.

The committee’s main recommendations advocate:

  • specialized training for medical and psychosocial/legal professionals, police officers, lawyers, prosecutors and judges in working with victims of sexual assault and domestic violence 

  • continuous support provided by a single counsellor

  • a service offering that is sensitive to Indigenous values 

  • access to free legal counsel as soon as a complaint is made

  • creation of a special tribunal to deal with cases of sexual assault and domestic violence.


An improved complaint process

The committee expressed the importance of creating teams specialized in sex crimes and domestic violence within police departments and prosecutors’ offices to ensure that victims receive the appropriate support. It was also recommended that a counsellor be present when victims report a crime to the police to keep them informed of progress made in their case, and to offer them assistance in preparing their testimony (by explaining the legal process and humanizing the complaint process).

Adapted services for sectors of the population that are often ignored

The committee paid particular attention to victims from Indigenous communities, stressing the importance of offering them services that reflect their cultural values. Our sociohistorical context must be at the heart of any reflection if it is to result in real changes in the support services offered to Indigenous victims. The committee thus recommends the creation of a Centre intégré de services holistiques des Premières Nations et Inuits en matière d’agressions sexuelles et violence conjugale (an integrated centre for holistic services for members of First Nations and Inuit communities with respect to sexual assault and domestic violence) within the specialized tribunal.


Concrete impact on medico-social services in designated centres

 

Over 1,500 victims agreed to answer the questionnaire in order to express their needs and help identify the changes and improvements that need to be made to the current support system. The analysis of their responses revealed that:

  • 50.1% of respondents had obtained services from the following organizations:

    • 61.4% from CAVACS

    • 47.3% from CALACS

    • 27% from women’s shelters

  • 23.1% of respondents who had not received services from any organization said that they were not aware of the existence of such services or thought that they were not appropriate for their situation.
     

The committee recognizes that the general public and various actors (the police, health professionals, etc.) are unaware of many of the services that are available to help victims of sexual assault or domestic violence. Many of its recommendations advocate improvements to referral services by provincial helplines (SOS violence conjugale and the Provincial Helpline for Victims of Sexual Assault).
 
The committee also recommends that general training be offered to people who work with victims to help them develop a general knowledge of the problem, and that specialized training should also be developed for counsellor in order to improve services.

 

Creation of a secretariat for the coordination and integration of actions against sexual and domestic violence (Secrétariat à la coordination et à l’intégration des actions en matière de violences sexuelles et conjugales) 

This is the committee’s last—but far from least—recommendation. After reading the observations set out in this report, the importance of creating a body to be responsible for coordinating government initiatives in this area is obvious, bringing together experts on the subject of sexual and domestic violence from all sectors of intervention: governmental, para-governmental, community and voluntary.

 

 

The report also includes several other recommendations related to victims who are male and/or members of the LGBTQ+ community, as well as to the promotion and application of the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights. Possible solutions are also proposed for offering perpetrators of violence services that focus on prevention.

If you would like to know more on this subject (in French only) got to:

Complete version                                    Resume

Contact us
Monday to Friday from 9 am to 5 pm
1-855-656-8906

infoservice-conseil@cvasm.ca  
www.serviceconseilqc.ca

Fond-1.png

Subscribe to our newsletter!

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will be the first to know about our activities!

Banner - Rebâtir la confiance

Le 15 décembre dernier, le   Comité d’experts sur l’accompagnement des victimes d’agressions sexuelles et de violence conjugale a annoncé la publication du rapport Rebâtir la confiance. Fruit de 18 mois de travail dans le contexte du mouvement #MoiAussi #MeToo, ce rapport de plus de 200 pages résulte d’une initiative transpartisane de quatre élues : Mme Isabelle Charest, ministre déléguée à l'Éducation et ministre responsable de la Condition féminine, Mme Isabelle Melançon, députée de Verdun, Mme Christine Labrie, députée de Sherbrooke et Mme Véronique Hivon, députée de Joliette. 


Elles se sont entourées de 21 expert.e.s dont des universitaires, des juristes, des travailleurs sociaux, des criminologues, des acteurs de terrain et des personnes victimes. Un processus de consultation auprès des organismes spécialisés dans plusieurs régions du Québec a été réalisé et de nombreuses personnes victimes ont eu le courage de témoigner de leurs expériences   en répondant à un questionnaire en ligne.

 

Les recommandations

 

Avec 190 recommandations, ce rapport porte une attention particulière à l’accompagnement psychosocial/judiciaire des personnes victimes. Ces recommandations proposent d’apporter    de réels changements au système actuel et d’offrir des outils aux différents acteurs afin de faciliter le processus de dévoilement jusqu’à la fin des démarches judiciaires.
Les principales recommandations incluent :

  • des formations spécialisées pour les intervenants médicaux et psychosociaux/judiciaires, les policiers, les avocats, les procureurs et les juges en matière d'agressions sexuelles et de violence conjugale; 

  • l’accompagnement en continu des victimes par un intervenant stable;

  • une offre de service sensible aux valeurs des Autochtones; 

  • l’accès à des conseils juridiques gratuits dès la dénonciation;

  • la création d’un tribunal spécialisé en matière d'agressions sexuelles et de violence conjugale.

 

Un processus de dénonciation à améliorer

 

Le comité note l’importance de créer des équipes spécialisées en matière de crimes sexuels et de violence conjugale au sein des services de police et des procureur.e.s afin d’offrir un soutien plus adapté. Il est aussi recommandé d’assurer la présence d’intervenant.e.s au moment du témoignage à la police, de tenir la personne victime au courant de l’avancement de son dossier et de lui offrir un soutien pour la préparation au témoignage, notamment en l’informant du processus judiciaire et en humanisant le processus de dénonciation.

Offrir des services adaptés aux populations souvent ignorées

Le comité a porté une attention particulière aux personnes victimes issues des communautés autochtones et souligne l’importance de leur offrir des services conformes à leurs valeurs culturelles. Le contexte sociohistorique doit être au cœur de la réflexion qui mènera à de réels changements dans les services d’accompagnement offerts aux personnes victimes autochtones. Le comité recommande ainsi la création, au sein du Tribunal spécialisé, d’un Centre intégré de services holistiques des Premières Nations et Inuits en matière d’agressions sexuelles et violence conjugale.

L’impact concret sur l’intervention médicosociale en centre désigné

Afin d’exprimer leurs besoins et d’aider à mieux cibler les changements et les améliorations à apporter au système d’accompagnement qui leur est offert, plus de 1500 personnes victimes ont accepté de témoigner en répondant à un questionnaire en ligne. L’analyse des réponses révèle que :

  • 50,1 % des répondant.e.s ont obtenu des services d’organismes :

    • 61,4 % de CAVACS,

    • 47,3 % de CALACS,

    • 27 % de maisons d’hébergement;

  • 23,1 % des répondant.e.s n’ayant pas reçu de services d’organismes affirment qu’elles ne connaissaient pas l’existence de tels services ou pensaient qu’ils n’étaient pas adaptés à leur situation.

Le comité reconnaît que beaucoup des services qui existent pour soutenir les personnes victimes sont méconnus de la population et des acteurs (police, professionnels de la santé, etc.). Plusieurs des recommandations ciblent une amélioration du référencement des services par les lignes centrales (SOS violence conjugale et Ligne-ressource provinciale pour les victimes d’agression sexuelle). 
 

Il est aussi recommandé d’offrir des formations générales à celles et ceux qui travaillent auprès des personnes victimes afin de développer un sens commun des problématiques, mais aussi des formations conçues spécifiquement pour les intervenant.e.s afin d’améliorer les services.


La création d’un Secrétariat à la coordination et à l’intégration des actions en matière de violences sexuelles et conjugales

C’est la dernière recommandation du comité et non la moindre. À la lecture des constats émis dans ce rapport, force est de croire qu’il est important de créer une entité responsable de coordonner les initiatives gouvernementales en la matière. L’idée consiste à regrouper les différents experts en violences conjugales et sexuelles de tous les secteurs d’intervention : gouvernemental, paragouvernemental, communautaire et associatif. 

Le rapport inclut aussi plusieurs autres recommandations concernant l’accompagnement des personnes victimes issues des communautés LGBTQ+ et des hommes victimes, ainsi que la promotion et l’application de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes. Il propose également des pistes pour offrir aux auteurs de violence des services axés sur une approche préventive.


 

Pour plus d’information, nous vous invitons à lire le rapport:
 

Version intégrale                                    Synthèse

Pour nous joindre
Du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 17 h
1 855 656-8906

infoservice-conseil@cvasm.ca  
www.serviceconseilqc.ca

 

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre!